As reflected in the chart below, in 2021, minimum wage will increase in over 25 states across the country.  Most of the changes are set to take effect on January 1, 2021, while others will not take effect until later in the year.   The minimum wage will also increase at the local level in several counties and cities.  Employers with minimum wage workers should seek guidance on 2021 minimum wage increases to ensure that their compensation practices are compliant with the laws in all the jurisdictions in which they operate.


Flagstaff$15.00, or $2 above state minimum wage, whichever is greater
Arkansas $11.00
California$13 per hour for employers with 25 or fewer employees

$14 per hour for employers with 26 or more employees

BerkeleyNo update provided yet.  Effective 7/1/2021.
Daly City$15.00
El Cerrito$15.61
EmeryvilleNo update provided yet.  Effective 7/1/2021.
Los Altos$15.65
Los Angeles City$15.00 (26+ employees)

$15.00 (25 or fewer) effective 7/1/2021.

Los Angeles County$15.00 (26+ employees)

$15.00 (25 or fewer) effective 7/1/2021.

Malibu$15.00 for all employers effective 7/1/2021.
Menlo Park$15.25
MilpitasNo update provided yet effective 7/1/2021.
Mountain View$16.30
Palo Alto$15.65
Pasadena$15.00 (26+ employees)

$15.00 (25 or fewer) effective 7/1/2021.

Petaluma$15.20 for all employers, regardless of size
Redwood City$15.62
San Diego$14.00
San FranciscoNo update provided yet effective 7/1/2021.
San Jose$15.45
San Mateo$15.62
Santa Clara$15.65
Santa Monica$15.00 (all employees) effective 7/1/2021.
Sonoma$15.00 (26+ employees)

$14.00 (25 or fewer)

Connecticut$13.00 effective 8/1/2021.
Florida$8.65 effective 8/1/2021.

$10.00 effective 9/30/2021.

Chicago$15.00 (for employers of 21+) effective 7/1/2021.

$14.00 (for employers 4 to 20) effective 7/1/2021.

Cook County$13.00 (no increase listed, several municipalities have opted out and are subject to IL minimum wage) effective 7/1/2021.
Maryland$11.75 (15+ employees)

$11.60 (14 or fewer)

Prince George’s County$11.75 (15+ employees)

$11.60 (14 or fewer)

Montgomery County$15.00 (51+ employees) effective 7/1/2021.

$14.00 (11-50 employees) effective 7/1/2021.

$13.50 (10 or fewer) effective 7/1/2021.

Minnesota$10.08 for large employers

$8.21 for small employers

Minneapolis$14.25 (100+ employees) effective 7/1/2021.

$12.50 (fewer than 100) effective 7/1/2021.

St. Paul$12.50 for macro businesses (over 10,000 employees) effective 7/1/2021.

$12.50 (101 to 10,000 employees) effective 7/1/2021.

$11.00 (6 to 100 employees) effective 7/1/2021.

$10.00 (5 or fewer) effective 7/1/2021.

Nevada$8.75 (for employers offering specified health benefits) effective 7/1/2021.

$9.75 (for all other employers) effective 7/1/2021.

New Jersey$12.00, for most employers

$11.10, for small employers

New Mexico$10.50
New York$12.50 effective 12/31/2020.
New York City$15.00
Nassau, Suffolk, Westchester$14.00 (increasing to $15.00 by Dec. 31, 2021)
Oregon$12.75 effective 7/1/2021.
Portland$14.00 effective 7/1/2021.
Non-Urban Counties$12.00 effective 7/1/2021.
South Dakota$9.45
Virginia$9.50 effective 5/1/2021.
 Seattle$16.69 (500 or fewer employees)

$15.00 (500 or fewer, plus tips and benefits paid by the employer)

$16.69 (more than 500 employees)


Please double check your local and state rates and regulations to ensure you are in compliance with those rates and regulations.  To stay up-to-date with minimum wage changes and other federal and state labor laws, consider registering for an HR Support Center membership.  When you need essential information on human resources issues, from benefits, hiring, and management, to culture, technology, and regulations, HR Support Center is a resource on which you can rely.  To learn more, visit or contact us at 770-446-7289 x2102.

Interested in learning how you can get the BASIC HR Support Center membership for free, contact us today.