As reflected in the chart below, in 2022, minimum wage will increase in over 25 states across the country.  Most of the changes are set to take effect on January 1, 2022, while others will not take effect until later in the year.   The minimum wage will also increase at the local level in several counties and cities.  Employers with minimum wage workers should seek guidance on 2022 minimum wage increases to ensure that their compensation practices are compliant with the laws in all the jurisdictions in which they operate.


·       Flagstaff$15.50
California$14 per hour for employers with 25 or fewer employees

$15 per hour for employers with 26 or more employees

·       Berkeley$16.32
·       Cupertino$16.40
·       Daly City$15.53
·       Emeryville$17.13
·       Los Altos$16.40
·       Milpitas$15.65
·       Mountain View$17.10
·       Oakland$15.06
·       Palo Alto$16.45
·       Petaluma$15.85
·       Richmond$15.54
·       San Diego$15.00
·       San Francisco$16.32
·       San Mateo$16.20
·       Santa Clara$16.40
·       Santa Monica$15.00
·       Santa Rosa$15.85
·       Sonoma$16.00 (26+ employees)

$15.00 (25 or fewer employees)

·       Sunnyvale$17.10
·       Denver$15.87
Connecticut$14.00 effective 7/1/2022
District of Columbia$15.20
·       Chicago$15.00, non-tipped; $9.00, tipped (for employers of 21+)

$14.00, non-tipped; $8.40, tipped (for employers 4 to 20)

·       Cook County$13.00, non-tipped; $7.20, tipped
Maine$12.75, non-tipped; 6.38, tipped
·       Portland$13.00, non-tipped; $6.5, tipped
Maryland$12.50 (15+ employees)

$12.20 (14 or fewer)

·       Montgomery County$15.00
Massachusetts$14.25, non-tipped; $6.15, tipped
Minnesota$10.33 for large employers (annual gross sales $500,000 or more)

$8.42 for small employers (annual gross sales less than $500,000)

·       Minneapolis$15.00(100+ employees)

$13.50 (fewer than 100)

·       St. Paul$15.00 for macro businesses (over 10,000 employees)

$13.50 (101 to 10,000 employees)

$12.00 (6 to 100 employees)

$10.75 (5 or fewer employees)

Nevada$9.50 (for employers offering specified health benefits)

$10.50 (for all other employers).

New Jersey$13.00, for most employers

$11.90, for seasonal and small employers

$5.13 tipped employees

New Mexico$11.50, non-tipped; $2.80 tipped
New York$13.20
·       New York City$15.00
·       Nassau, Suffolk, Westchester$14.00 (increasing to $15.00 by Dec. 31, 2021)
Ohio$9.30, non-tipped; $4.65 tipped
Oregon$13.50 effective 7/1/2022.
·       Metro Portland$14.75 effective 7/1/2022
·       Rural Areas$12.50 effective 7/1/2022
Rhode Island$12.25, non-tipped; $8.36, tipped, with calculated minimum
South Dakota$9.95
Vermont$12.55, non-tipped; $6.28, tipped
·       Seattle$17.27 (more than 500 employees and 500 or fewer that don’t pay for benefits.)

$15.75 (500 or fewer, with tips and benefits paid by the employer)


Please double check your local and state rates and regulations to ensure you are in compliance with those rates and regulations.  To stay up-to-date with minimum wage changes and other federal and state labor laws, consider registering for an HR Support Center membership.  When you need essential information on human resources issues, from benefits, hiring, and management, to culture, technology, and regulations, HR Support Center is a resource on which you can rely.  To learn more, visit or contact us at 770-446-7289 x2102.